On my post “Carlos Celdran was Wrong”

Dear friends,

These recent days, I have been surprised, if not, alarmed, by the number of visitors to my lowly blog. This is generally a blog about culture, history and heritage. Some entries though are personal opinion pieces, and one of those pieces was on Mr. Carlos Celdran’s brazen act of protest in the Manila Cathedral in 2010.

When the verdict on Mr. Celdran came out, suddenly, there was a surge of visitors to my blog. Earlier today, almost 1,800 readers clicked on my blog entry. And with those views came the comments.

Upon reviewing my email account, I was completely aghast at the number of comments I received. However, reading them just horrified me. Some were completely full of vitriol. Some were sweeping statements of condemnation.

But what really scared me were the threats of my accounts being hacked, of me being “exposed”, of me being labeled as a “stupid hypocrite”. I also did not find it too pleasing to read comments such as “Carlos Celdran is a faggot and all faggots burn in hell” or “All atheists deserve nothing but imprisonment”. Upon reading those comments, I decided to take down the post. It has come to a point where hatred has infiltrated my blog, which is supposed to relay things that are, as Imelda Marcos would always say, “true, good and beautiful”.

I still do not agree with what Mr. Celdran did inside the “Mother of all Catholic Churches” of the Philippines. I was not there but what he did was for me, offensive. As a Catholic, the taunting he showed especially towards the former Archbishop of Manila and the former Papal Nuncio was completely insulting. He did his “Damaso” act in the presence of the Blessed Sacrament, which we Catholics believe is Christ Himself.

There is a reason, or a logic, behind the law against offending religious feelings. What he did best displayed why such a law is needed. When people are gathered in prayer or talking about their Faith whether it be in a public or private space, one cannot simply barrage that group with invectives. People who are trying to pray, to contemplate, to reflect or to connect with their Creator must be left at peace. Whether it was inside St. Peter’s Basilica or in a basketball court, let such people have their peace and quiet.

I do not agree with some legislators’ proposals to repeal the above-mentioned law. The said law actually protects one human right from another human right, the super gasgas na “freedom of speech” right.

Again, I salute Mr. Celdran for his noble and courageous work in the City of Manila. What he has done in sparking interest in studying and visiting Manila has been very good. As a young man also interested in the cultural heritage of Old Manila, I share the same passion with a man whom I used to consider an idol.

However, what he did in the Cathedral shouldn’t go unpunished. I am one with people who believe that Mr. Celdran’s act was wrong and simply uncouth. I will, however, not tolerate atrocious statements being posted on my blog. And neither will I allow myself to be victimized by so-called “Free Thinkers” who will do all they can to stop me (ironic noh?) from expressing my own opinions.

About hechoayer

Things made yesterday still influence us until today. Things made today will influence us tomorrow. Things of the essence such as faith, culture, food, music and values should never disappear nor eroded by the times. Instead, these must be recorded, lived and shared. Something made yesterday - hecho ayer - can be tomorrow's saving grace. Never ignore the past.
This entry was posted in Otras Cosas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to On my post “Carlos Celdran was Wrong”

  1. leonorcinco says:

    It is really sad that some people disrespect the Catholic Church disguised as expression of their Freedom of Speech. I think you did the right thing, that is, to take down the post. This is your blog, and you have every right to express your thoughts and sentiments. And nobody has the right to trash and ruin your blog by posting disgusting comments. Let them express their opinion in their own blog. More power to you and GOD BLESS YOU!

  2. Kaya nagiging gasgas yung “freedom of speech” is because not many understand what freedom is. It’s always the teenage stigma of “I can do whatever I want” kind of freedom. It is, however, a responsibility one has when trying to exercise his/her right. Sense of propriety, ika nga.🙂

  3. I was surprised too that the post was removed and I knew the reason why. Attacks from many side will come once you stand up for Mother Church. You will even encounter people who profess to be Catholics but are not charitable even to the “enemies” of the Church (may ilang Katoliko na rin akong napagsabihan na umayos sila).

    So you talked again about Celdran. Expect people, including the most virulent ones, to attack you again. They will threaten you, of course, but be not afraid.

    God bless you.

  4. Melo says:

    Take courage!

    “Truth is incontrovertible. Malice may attack it;
    ignorance may deride it, but in the end, there it is.” (W. Churchill)

  5. JD says:

    I haven’t read that post… Anyway, I hope you can write freely again regarding topics you like. So much for “freedom of expression.”

  6. Cynthia Alfonso says:

    Please continue to stand up for truth… for JESUS… Let me share this link which is so relevant to our present situation … too quote a portion of Doc Carson”s prayer speech (in front of non-other than Mr. Obama:
    “…. AND ONE LAST THING ABOUT POLITICAL CORRECTNESS, WHICH I THINK IS A HORRIBLE THING, BY THE WAY, I’M VERY, VERY COME — COMPASSIONATE, AND I’M NOT NEVER OUT TO OFFEND ANYONE.
    BUT PC IS DANGEROUS.
    BECAUSE, YOU SEE, THIS COUNTRY ONE OF THE FOUNDING PRINCIPLES WAS FREEDOM OF THOUGHT AND FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION.
    AND IT MUZZLES PEOPLE. IT PUTS A MUZZLE ON THEM.
    AND AT THE SAME TIME, KEEPS PEOPLE FROM DISCUSSING IMPORTANT ISSUES WHILE THE FABRIC OF THIS SOCIETY IS BEING CHANGED.
    AND WE CANNOT FALL FOR THAT TRICK.
    AND WHAT WE NEED TO DO IS START TALKING ABOUT THINGS, TALKING ABOUT THINGS THAT ARE IMPORTANT.
    THINGS THAT WERE IMPORTANT IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF OUR NATION….”http://www.theblaze.com/stories/2013/02/07/prayer-breakfast-speaker-praises-jesus-gets-political-calls-political-correctness-dangerous-hammers-fiscal-irresponsibility/

  7. Rogie says:

    it’s a sad fact that for some of these people, freedom of expression applies only on the things that they agree with.

  8. Ron Aquino says:

    I wanted to share that post sana with a friend with whom you and I share the same sentiments with, but before I can share it, it was gone! Thanks for clarifying why you took it down. It was a well-written post, imho. But if there’s one thing I just realized, it is that there are plenty of opportunities for educating people in the world (and that’s putting it positively). What I realized is that, actually, there are plenty of teenagers out there on the internet, and some who, just because they’re not teenagers anymore, think the way they think is not like that of a teenager. Anyway, what I meant was that, usually, it’s people who know less who hate. Like there are some “Catholics” who do not know their own religion’s teachings well enough, who become the numero uno haters of the Church and what it stands for. There are some who do not know anything about Islam and other cultures in general, such that when they see an Indian Punjabi man who is wearing a turban, they immediately assume he’s a Muslim and discriminate against that man. There are “Christians” who hate on Catholics — suddenly excusing themselves from the fact that hate is exactly the opposite of Christian teaching. Youth obviously does not know as much as adults do, but when people start becoming less and less open to learning new things, because maybe they are not encouraged as much to learn anymore (i.e. they’re comfortable with what they have / know), that’s when hate starts. We need more educators — including priests — who will do their “job” well (i.e. not just treat it as something they need to do, e.g. for income). Alas, that is difficult. But for us, we just do our part. We need constant education, and the first step is to do it ourselves. So, God bless you, bro. Keep up the good work!

  9. De AnDA says:

    I usually don’t mind these people. Expect senseless, and yes, silly empty threats, whenever you write something that goes against their heroes and freethinkering beliefs. For sure, there are those that doesn’t even understand the topic. But that won’t stop them. No. They wanted to be acknowledged, get a little attention. That’s all. Whenever I want some entertainment, whenever I have nothing better to do, I read those youtube comments. Some of the most stupidest things you’ll ever see. But they’re damn funny man. They’re the same guys who pestered you. Don’t let these keyboard tough guys ruin your day. Hey I commend you for writing what you wrote. It’s not even about religion. We still have laws. But what I can’t understand is why you got that many people to read that celdran entry of yours and none for mine!🙂

    De Anda

    • Good for you, man. I read those hate comments and I just feel sad and angry. While I think Hecho Ayer should have not taken down that original blog post, I would probably have done the same. Because fire can’t put out fire so… Anyways, Hecho Ayer’s post was dated 2010. I got to it because our Parish Priest liked it and linked to it on Facebook. I don’t think our PP knows Hecho Ayer personally, but I think since his article has been around the internet for a long time, it might come up higher in search results. Plus it was a long article that more deeply explored the situation — again, back in 2010. Or maybe it was just a case of word-of-mouth / viral.

Leave a Reply

