Breakfasts at The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia, Singapore

It has exactly been a week since I flew to Singapore to attend the Holcim Regional Awarding on Sustainable Construction. As the winner of Holcim Philippines’ Students’ Journalism Contest on Sustainable Construction last year, I was entitled to attend the affair gratis.

The event was held at the glitzy Ritz Carlton Singapore, and as such, we, the delegation from the Philippines, were also booked in the said bespoke hotel.

One thing I enjoyed greatly during my short stay there were the buffet breakfasts at the hotel’s Greenhouse. My room mate and I would wake up at 6:30 in the morning just to leisurely enjoy the overwhelming spread.

For two days, as I would enter the Greenhouse, friendly Filipina staff members would graciously check my room number, and then, lead me to a particular booth at the rear area of the dining area where my fellow Filpino representatives and I would enjoy, at a glacial pace, the marvelous food that beheld us.

The buffet area was circular in form, with the hot dishes such as dimsum, nasi and mee located in the middle. At the rear end were the chef’s egg station, the fresh fruits, the jars of yoghurt and dairy beverages, the salad bar and my favorite section, the cold cuts area where thinly sliced succulent and salty jamon serrano, smoked salmon and other cured meats are found.

At the peripheries were counters serving various breads and pastries, freshly-squeezed fruit juices and also pungent cheeses, all tastefully organized. Oh how I enjoyed the different cheeses and rolls!

As I read the morning’s papers, friendly, roving staff members with teapots would approach and ask me, with smiles on their faces, which drink I preferred. Whether it would be coffee, tea or hot chocolate (which was served generously in small ceramic tea pots), these were promptly brought to our table.

The mood and atmosphere were very relaxed, and thus, one could be able to fully enjoy the food and time one has in the said dining area. Unlike in other buffets where the crowd seems to be uncontrolled and the acoustics poor, the Greenhouse had an efficient crowd-control plan that limited the noise and volume of people.

The dining experiences I had at The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia’s well-staffed Greenhouse breakfast buffet were memorable, enjoyable and really impressionable. Anyone visiting Singapore or who’s planning to book at the said hotel should try, even for one morning, the experience that is the Ritz-Carlton breakfast. Although 2 days seem to be bitin, I could really say that the two days were two 5-star days.

More power to the Filipino and the rest of the staff of the Ritz-Carlton, Millenia! I am a happy customer honestly all-too-willing to share the happy days I spent in the said hotel.

For contact details of the Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Greenhouse Breakfast Buffet, check out this link: http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/Properties/Singapore/Dining/Greenhouse/Default.htm

About hechoayer

Things made yesterday still influence us until today. Things made today will influence us tomorrow. Things of the essence such as faith, culture, food, music and values should never disappear nor eroded by the times. Instead, these must be recorded, lived and shared. Something made yesterday - hecho ayer - can be tomorrow's saving grace. Never ignore the past.
This entry was posted in Otras Cosas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Breakfasts at The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia, Singapore

  1. Nicole says:

    Cool! I have that Homenaje a Rizal shirt by IC Manila too! I wonder if you also participated in the Mi Ultimo Adios choral reading last Dia E? I was there! ^_^

  2. FOOOOOD! Everything looks so perfectly made!!!

Leave a Reply

