Mussels/Tahong ala Kylie Kwong

Yesterday, I decided to cook a dish for my family, which was inspired by a Kylie Kwong cooking episode. I like that Chinese-Australian lady because of her poise, beauty and sheer talent. I don’t exactly remember what it’s called but I remember distinctly how it was cooked because it was easy, and it seemed delicious. Plus I was craving for mussels (tahong in Tagalog).

So, after class, I passed by Farmer’s Wet Market in Araneta and purchased a kilo of mussels and a pack of vermicelli. I won’t bother mentioning what I saw in the fish section of that wet market because you might not want to visit wet markets anymore.

The dish uses some of my most favorite herbs and aromatics, and so shopping for these was really a joy. I bought sili (chili), cilantro, capsicum, ginger, shallots, and spring onions.

INGREDIENTS
Mussels
Vermicelli noodles
Garlic
Ginger
Spanish Onions
Shallots
Spring Onions
Chili
Cilantro
Red Capsicum
Half cup of Oyster Sauce
1 tbsp of Sesame Oil

Although I didn’t faithfully follow the Ms. Kwong’s recipe and technique, it was basically the same dish.

First, I sauteed the onion, garlic, shallots, ginger and sili in peanut oil. Then, as the onion became translucent, I added the capsicum.

While this was going on, by the way, I was already steaming the mussels. Once the mussels opened, I removed them from the heat, and separated the water that was produced by the steaming.

Going back to the sauce, after 2 minutes or so, I added the oyster sauce, sesame oil and some of the mussels’ stock. I also added the cilantro and spring onions into the sauce.

After letting the sauce simmer, I added in the mussels, and also the vermicelli noodles. I tossed the mussels and vermicelli in the sauce and added extra cilantro leaves.

This dish was hecho ayer.

About hechoayer

Things made yesterday still influence us until today. Things made today will influence us tomorrow. Things of the essence such as faith, culture, food, music and values should never disappear nor eroded by the times. Instead, these must be recorded, lived and shared. Something made yesterday - hecho ayer - can be tomorrow's saving grace. Never ignore the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

