Buffalo Wings ala Pinoy

Buffalo Wings with celery sticks, mayo dip and carrots

Earlier today, I volunteered making lunch. Since it was a holiday, and I had nothing really to do, I decided to whip up Buffalo wings. But I had to improvise because there was no hot sauce at home but only Jufran (how do you spell it ba?!). Likewise, we didn’t have blue cheese earlier today so I had to rely on instinct as to what dip I could make with the available ingredients at home.

half of the kilo of chicken wings is good for 3-4 persons

For 140 Pesos, I was able to buy a kilo of plump chicken wings in the local market here in Cubao. The wings were cut into two and were seasoned with a table spoon of salt as well as ground black pepper. I also added lots of minced garlic and squeezed two calamansis. To add heat, I added siling labuyo (red chili) to the marinade. With my hands, I combined all the ingredients with the chicken to really make sure that the chicken wings were thoroughly marinated. I let it sit for a good 2 hours.

The ingredients for the marinade and the veggies for the side dishes

Before frying the wings in oil, I had to evenly coat them in all-purpose flour. There’s no need to add egg to the flour.

always have a bag of flour in your cupboard!

coat wings evenly

When the first batch of chicken wings were nearly cooked, I prepared in a sauce pan the coating for the wings. I melted a stick and a half of butter in the pan and also poured in one cup of Jufran chili sauce. I also added garlic, calamansi and Worcestershire to the sauce.

never crowd whatever you fry

coat the wings in a pan of simmering butter, chili/hot sauce and garlic

As soon as the chicken wings were cooked, I transferred these to the sauce pan already with boiling sauce to coat the chicken wings. I simply repeated the process for the following batches. Then, at the last batch, I placed all the other coated chicken wings back into the sauce pan for a second coating. I generously added garlic-flavored margarine and more Jufran.

the leaves of the celery stalks were minced and mixed into the dip

On the other hand, I prepared the dip before frying the wings. In a bowl, I mixed celery leaves with a cup of mayonnaise, tablespoon of all-purpose cream and some salt and pepper. I also added a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce, and let the dip sit in the refrigerator. Likewise, I also blanched some celery sticks and a carrot to serve as my refreshing, crunchy side dishes.

vais a cocinar!

My parents and I ate the chicken wings using own hands, and we surely had to lick off the sauce from our fingers. It was that good. The recipe of this dish was inspired by my friend’s mom’s famous chicken dish. However, she uses drumsticks more.

This Pinoy Buffalo Wings hecho ayer.

About hechoayer

Things made yesterday still influence us until today. Things made today will influence us tomorrow. Things of the essence such as faith, culture, food, music and values should never disappear nor eroded by the times. Instead, these must be recorded, lived and shared. Something made yesterday - hecho ayer - can be tomorrow's saving grace. Never ignore the past.
This entry was posted in COMIDA FILIPINA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

