End of Semester Clean Up

All the clutter at the end of a sem: awful!

I ended my first semester last Thursday and my break has been spent in the cold rooms of the Ayala Museum. I’m enjoying my stint in the said private museum, and I look forward to my remaining days there. It’s always a joy to go to work at the Ayala Museum.

these deserve the rubbish bin!

But before I went to enjoy my break, I spent a good hour or so going through my end-of-sem ritual of sorting out all the papers and books I have accumulated during the semester. This semester was no exception most especially that I photocopied and printed many pages for my senior thesis.

this thick pile is only for thesis research materials and chapters 1 and 2

All my stuff: academic and non-academic papers, books, pamphlets, souvenirs, etc are placed on an old wooden chair near the sala. It’s my papellera, and it’s a huge papellera. This is because I don’t want my own aparador and study table cluttered with all those brown envelopes and whatnot. It may be a hassle going through all those papers downstairs but at least I keep all the dust at bay.

books that have helped me go through many difficult situations

Each Filipino household, I firmly believe. must have a copy of this informative work by Nick Joaquin

I see the papellera daily but when the day came I had to tidy it up, only then did I notice how cluttered and messy it was. I wouldn’t be surprised, upon seeing it, if a snake suddenly came out of the heaps of papers. I also reunited with some books I enjoyed then, or would’ve been wonderful reference texts if only I saw them.

many thanks to these works, i'm still alive, my mind still creative!

My own book, of course, deserves recognition for keeping me happy and sane these past few months

After a good hour of browsing through the papers, segregating them (some were to be thrown, some were to be kept in boxes while some were to be kept on the papellera for easy reach) and dusting them, I was able to finally organize my stuff.

I've been keeping notes, books and papers in these boxes since high school

It was a good way of ending the semester and beginning a new one. That practice is surely hecho ayer.

now all organized!

ready for my final sem!

About hechoayer

Things made yesterday still influence us until today. Things made today will influence us tomorrow. Things of the essence such as faith, culture, food, music and values should never disappear nor eroded by the times. Instead, these must be recorded, lived and shared. Something made yesterday - hecho ayer - can be tomorrow's saving grace. Never ignore the past.
This entry was posted in Otras Cosas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

