Lunch for the First Day of SemBreak: Smoky Roasted Chicken

Nice plump bird from Shopwise

After hearing Mass in the morning, I decided to rest at home before I prepare my lunch. Since Papa was having lunch at home, I wanted something a bit more special. Heck, I wanted a SUPERB lunch because it’s the first day of my break from what I think was the most challenging of all the semesters I’ve ever had!

I went to Shopwise Araneta at around 9 am with only “Roast Chicken” in my head. However, I still hadn’t decided what recipe I would be using nor what ingredients I would be buying. But as if it was divine revelation, I thought of making smoky recipe for roast chicken, something that would either give me some Latin American or Arabic aftertaste.

This little green bell pepper brought a wonderful flavor to my roast chicken

Here then are the ingredients I used for my “Smoky Roasted Chicken”:

1 and 1/4 kilo chicken

Spices to be used

1 tablespoon of Pepper corns

1 hole green bell pepper for stuffing

1 tablespoon of dried Rosemary

2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce

use a generous amount of garlic

1 whole garlic, minced

1/2 onion for stuffing

Garlic flavor Star Margarine for coating the bird every now and then

Salt to taste

Ready to the turbo!

I didn’t really use the oven (I’m scared of ovens!) but I used a “turbo” or rotisserie. After marinating the chicken for a good one hour and a half, I placed the bird in the turbo, basting the chicken constantly with the garlic-flavored Star margarine.

Mix the sauce in your rice or potatoes or dip your bread in it

The result: a tender roasted chicken, slightly over-cooked to make the skin crispier and really smoky in flavor. The bell pepper and the onion in the bird’s cavity gave it a unique almost Mexican aroma and taste. The garlic as well as the galic-flavored margarine truly enhanced the flavor of the chicken, adding that delicious garlicky flavor. The sauce was heavenly, a mix of butter and chicken fat. The dried Rosemary herbs also made the dish more delightful. I paired the dish with a cooling cucumber salad that is served cold with generous amounts of vinegar, olive oil, pepper and salt as well as some sugar.

Pipino or cucumber salad

This recipe hecho ayer.

About hechoayer

Things made yesterday still influence us until today. Things made today will influence us tomorrow. Things of the essence such as faith, culture, food, music and values should never disappear nor eroded by the times. Instead, these must be recorded, lived and shared. Something made yesterday - hecho ayer - can be tomorrow's saving grace. Never ignore the past.
This entry was posted in COMIDA FILIPINA, Otras Cosas and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

